call for a free consultation 800-615-6595


Farar & Lewis LLP is a top rated law firm, with over 40 years of combined experience. Our attorneys have won over $100 million, in combined verdicts and settlements for our clients. You deserve compensation for your pain and suffering, and it's our job to get it for you.

Los Angeles

Personal Injury Lawyers


Personal Attention

At Farar & Lewis LLP, we pride ourselves on our ability to be there for our clients, 24/7 when tragedy or questions arise. Every single one of our clients has access to their assigned lawyer.

Respected Los Angeles Car Accident Lawyers

We’re proud to say that our personal injury lawyers in Los Angeles, are recognized as leaders in the state of California. Our firm has won millions, in compensation for our clients.

No Fee Ever. Unless We Win.

Our Los Angeles personal injury attorneys are on your team. That means we’re with you 100% of the way. We prove this, by never charging any upfront fees.

Risk Free Consultation. No Upfront Fees-

It's simple. There's NO upfront fee for our services. We offer a risk free consultation.

A Practice Dedicated Exclusively To Helping Injury Victims

If you have been injured in an auto accident or another type of accident that you did not cause, it is important that you seek the advice of a qualified California personal injury attorney who knows the law and has the ability to secure the compensation you deserve. At the law firm of Farar & Lewis LLP, we represent Southern California clients through some of the most difficult times of their lives.

We know how overwhelming it can be for injury victims to deal with overzealous insurance adjusters who want to settle their claims for as little as possible. We take the burden of the legal issues off your shoulders and work directly with the insurance company to negotiate a settlement that provides the medical care and financial support necessary to facilitate your recovery. If a fair settlement cannot be negotiated, we will take your case to court.

Our Iron-Clad Commitment To YOU

We are committed to you and your right to no-nonsense legal representation, timely communication and full compensation. We pride ourselves on providing punctual and honest case assessments.

Our team of trial lawyers has over 40 years of combined experience, fighting on behalf of victims all over the state of California. get a free consultation


Motorcyclist Suffers From Automobile Accident
Premises Liability/Trip and Fall
Premises Liability/Trip and Fall
Auto vs. Auto
Pedestrian suffers from automobile accident
risk free consultation

Who determines who was at fault in my auto accident?

Determining who is at fault in a car accident is especially important if you need your car repaired. The rules regarding fault differ according to each state. This is complicated by the fact that some states are “no-fault” while others are “fault” states. If the other driver is at fault and you reside in a “fault” state, then you will be compensated by the other driver’s car insurance company. Those who live in a no-fault state will be compensated for medical injuries by their own insurance company no matter who is at fault (property damage is still determined on a fault basis). Here is some important information to help you determine if you or the other driver are at fault in an auto accident.

Who’s at Fault in a Car Accident?

Determining who’s at fault in a car accident is determined by insurance companies in light of your particular state’s definition of vehicle negligence. If you live in a comparative negligence state, your liability is in direct proportion to how negligent you were in the crash. If the other driver is found to be 80 percent responsible for the crash, then you are only 20 percent financially responsible.

Other states use the concept of contributory negligence when determining fault and awarding damages. Financial damages are only awarded in pure contributory negligence states when one driver is totally at fault. If you were rear-ended but slightly at fault, you wouldn’t be entitled to financial compensation in a pure contributory negligence state.

Steps to Help Cover Yourself After a Car Accident


  • Make sure the other driver in the accident has a valid driver’s license. See if there are any clues that they weren’t operating their car in a safe manner given the road conditions and the speed limit.
  • Take notes on the accident. This can include writing down the details of how the accident happened, the number of passengers or any injuries. This should be a detailed account of what happened during the accident. It is best to write these notes while the accident is still fresh in your head.
  • Take pictures of the accident scene. You can take pictures immediately after the accident occurs or while waiting for the police to arrive. The easiest option will be to use the camera on your cellular phone to take photos. You can also look for skid marks to photograph, which can show careless driving by the other driver.
  • Look for eye witnesses. Someone who lives near the accident and saw it would be ideal. An eyewitness can provide a written or verbal testimony on what they saw. This first-hand report can help insurance companies and police find out who caused the car accident to take place.
  • Obtain a police report. This is a valuable way to determine who is at fault after an accident. The police are trained professionals and will be able to decide who caused the accident and if there are any legal charges to be made against this person. A copy of this police report can be used in court or sent to an insurance company.
  • Do not admit to any fault to police officers or the other party, even if you think you’re responsible. Let the record show whoever is at fault. Their may be circumstances that you’re not aware of that could put the other person at fault.

Contact Your Insurance Company

Whether you are at fault in the accident or not, make sure to keep your insurance company in the loop. The insurance company will require the greatest amount of your time after the car accident. You should keep your insurance information in the glove compartment of your car, even if your state does not require it. Record the vehicle identification number and license plate of the other vehicles involved in the accident. Contact your insurance company right after the accident. Give them the information that’s requested, including your description of what happened (with pictures if available) and the contact information for the other drivers. The time required for a settlement varies between insurance companies, although the best companies can settle a claim within a week or two.

Top Rated Personal
Injury Lawyers

Fill out the form to schedule a free consultation